top of page
logo-galerie.png

Spring Show

VIRGINIA JOYCE-FLEMING
ZAK VAN BILJON

Apr 21-Jul 04, 2021

VIRGINIA JOYCE-FLEMING.jpg
VIRGINIA JOYCE-FLEMING

Press Release

Hidden gems

 

Virginia Joyce Fleming wurde in Japan geboren und wuchs in der Schweiz, in Singapur und in den USA auf. 2015 schloss sie ihr Studium an der University of the Arts in London mit einem BA (hons) in Surface Design ab.

Die Arbeit von Virginia lässt sich stark von ihrer Kindheit inspirieren, da sie in verschiedenen Kulturen, städtischen und ländlichen Umgebungen gelebt hat. Sie wird kreativ von der Architektur angeregt und macht geometrische Formen, scharfe Linien, kombiniert mit organischen Formen, zu einem wichtigen Bestandteil ihres Stils.

Sie bezieht auch andere künstlerische Genres wie Stammeskunst, Kubismus und Street Art ein.

Virginia ist spezialisiert auf Fineliner-Illustrationen, Gemälde und Wandbilder für den privaten und öffentlichen Raum.

Derzeit lebt und kreiert sie die meisten ihrer Kunstwerke im wunderschönen Engadin in der Schweiz.

Zak.jpg
ZAK VAN BILJON

Press Release

Modernising nature

 

Zak van Biljon wurde 1981 in Südafrika geboren. Studierte am National College of Photography in Pretoria, bevor er 2004 nach Europa auswanderte. In den letzten zwei Jahrzehnten hat sich van Biljon in der Kunstwelt einen Namen gemacht Werbefotografie bei gleichzeitiger Festigung seiner Fähigkeiten als Kunstfotograf. Van Biljons Arbeit untersucht Vorstellungen von Realität und Wahrnehmung, Natur und Urbanität durch seinen charakteristischen Stil der Infrarotfotografie.
Die Infrarotfotografietechnik - ursprünglich für die militärische Überwachung und Erntemessungen entwickelt - besteht aus einem Prozess, bei dem infrarotempfindliche Fotomaterialien auf das Licht im nahen Infrarot reagieren, das von organischen Materialien auf natürliche Weise reflektiert wird. Infolgedessen manifestieren sich van Biljons Naturlandschaftsfotos visuell in leuchtenden roten und rosa Farben.
Die in der Ausstellung in der Galerie 10 gezeigten Arbeiten geben einen Einblick in Zak van Biljons zentrale - aber sich ständig weiterentwickelnde - Bilder, die von majestätischen Infrarotbildern schweizerisch-lokaler Landschaften über detailorientierte Naturstudien bis hin zu fotografischen Analysen organischer Strukturen wie Blumen reichen Felder oder Astholz.

Galerie10 – Exhibition view
Galerie10 – Exhibition view
Galerie10 – Exhibition view
Galerie10 – Exhibition view
Galerie10 – Exhibition view
bottom of page

top of page
logo-galerie.png

Spring Show

VIRGINIA JOYCE-FLEMING
ZAK VAN BILJON

Apr 21-Jul 04, 2021

VIRGINIA JOYCE-FLEMING.jpg
VIRGINIA JOYCE-FLEMING

Press Release

Hidden gems

Virginia Joyce Fleming is of Swiss/British nationality, born in Japan and grew up in Switzerland, Singapore and the USA. She graduated with a BA(hons) in Surface Design from the University of the Arts London in 2015.

Virginia's work draws a lot of inspiration from her childhood memories, influenced by urban and rural environments. She is creatively stimulated by architecture, making geometric shapes, sharp lines, combined with organic forms found in nature, a vital part of her style.
Virginia's artwork varies from delicate fineliner illustrations to large scale murals in public spaces. She currently lives and creates most of her artwork in the beautiful Engadin valley, Switzerland.

Zak.jpg
ZAK VAN BILJON

Press Release

 Modernising nature

Born in 1981 in South Africa, Zak van Biljon studied at the National College of Photography in Pretoria, before emigrating to Europe in 2004. Over the past two decades, van Biljon has made a name for himself in the art world working in the field of commercial photography while simultaneously consolidating his skills as a fine art photographer. Van Biljon’s work explores notions of reality and perception, nature and urbanity, through his signature style of infrared photography.
The infrared photography technique—originally developed for military surveillance and crop surveys—consists of a process, where infrared-sensitive photographic materials react to the near-infrared light that is naturally reflected by organic materials. As a result of this, van Biljon’s naturescapes photographs visually manifest themselves in vibrant red and pink colors.
The works included in the exhibition at Galerie 10 give insight into Zak van Biljon’s pivotal—yet continually evolving—imagery ranging from majestic infrared pictures of Swiss-local landscapes, through to detail-oriented nature studies and to photographic analyses of organic structures such as flower fields or branch wood.

Galerie10 – Exhibition view
Galerie10 – Exhibition view
Galerie10 – Exhibition view
Galerie10 – Exhibition view
Galerie10 – Exhibition view
bottom of page